My Mai’s Kitchen

We always associate people in certain settings. I always associate my grandmother in her kitchen,  taking care of her whole family.
Maybe it was the braided onions that hung from the roof, or the tiny window through which people would greet us, or maybe it was a tinier littl-er version of the current me, just sitting there on a tiny stool eating alphabet soup listening to her talk, keenly wanting to know more and more.
I don’t know what it is, maybe its all of this or just maybe its the way she nourishes both my stomach and my soul
image

Here’s to my Mai and all our grandmothers and here’s to the blessing they are to us

image

Leave a Reply

