This weekend I saw God’s Not Dead, the story about a college student being bullied by his professor for his belief in God and Jesus Christ.
In a timely movie which outlined how our faith is under fire, where we are constantly under attack for who we are in Christ, the message of the movie God’s Not dead is something we need to be continously reminded of.  I saw the movie expecting big arguments, alot of theories and opinions, but what really captured my heart were the supporting stories within the movie.
One scene in particular hit me right in the gut. Its the scene where Mark goes to visit his old mother, a woman suffering from dementia. I look at the contrast in both charecters, one immoral, and heartless,  but successful and not lacking for anything, and his mother, a pius , polite woman, afflicted with the disease that has robbed her of everything she knew.
In life these contrasting characters are all too real, and sometimes its not hard to question your life’s circumstances, to wonder why you don’t have the things you want, why people who don’t deserve anything, have the things they haven’t even merited.
this is why:

Mark:  You prayed and believed your whole life. Never done anything wrong, and here you are. You’re the kindest person I know. I am the meanest. You have dementia. My life is perfect. Explain that to me!
Mark’s mother: Sometimes the devil allows people to live a life free of trouble because he doesn’t want people turning to God. Their sin is like a jail cell, except it is all nice and comfy and there doesn’t seem to be any reason to leave. The door’s wide open. Till one day time runs out and the door slams shut and suddenly it’s too late to get out.

Maybe its our challenges that have kept us from the clutches of the devil, and maybe we should be thankful for that, just like how Jesus said:
Blessed are they who mourn
For they shall be comforted

Maybe your being challenged, maybe your being held hostage by the situations of your life, Thank God for them, its only your troubles that have strengthened your love and faith in God, and out of that darkness that torments you He has called light to shine forth.

I hope you get chance to see this movie, I am sure you will find one of the stories relates to your life and you will be blessed for it

To life, Love and God
P.S. God’s Not Dead
image

3 thoughts on “Gods Not Dead

  1. Sabrina

    My wife and I just watched the same movie last night. Likewise, we were also very struck by that conversation between Mark and his mum. But the whole movie was so refreshing just given its polar opposite view point (compared to the usual media hostility towards virtually anything involving God). Just wanted to say – nicely written section of your blog

    Keep well and keep blogging

    Ciaran Brady – Farnham Surrey UK

  2. One other thing I forgot to mention in my last message and came to mind as I browsed some of your other blog entries. Try reading the book “Life after God” by Douglas Coupland. You won’t be disappointed.

    1. Thank you so much Mr Ciarian ( Nice Name!) I loved the movie in that there was something for everybody, I was expecting it to only have the great debate between the student and the professor but it was the other side stories that really caught my heart, such a great movie!
      Thank you for the the book recommendation, I ll be sure to check it out.
      Stay blessed!

Leave a Reply

