I still wear red converses and Jeans with torn hems
But I don’t mind floral dresses and sandals

I used to want God to solve every situation I ever had
Now I am thankful He preserves my heartbeat

I used to dream of spotlights and names
Now, I am grateful for all the ways in which I am loved

I used to dream of crowds and riches
Now I know what value is and where my heart lies

I used to think I could change the world
Now I just love the 5 People in my world

I used to think Freedom was on the road
now I know its in growing up and in living everyday

I used to blame the past for the plans gone wrong
Now I am thankful for the roads I took that got me here

I used to want to chase after my dreams for my sake
Now I believe true dreaming is making others happy

I used to believe to be loved you had to have many people beside you
Now I’ve learnt to love myself and be a blessing to others

I used to want a life of adventure
Now I am content with the calm and the certainty of life

I used to want a wild raging fire
Now I see the value of slow burning embers

I was just a girl
Now I am a girl growing up

I will still want things but they will keep changing
I have left behind all the defined me before and now I get to define myself all over again

Many things will come and go
People who will enter and leave
Many beginnings and many ends
Many doors and many open roads

But in all of time, in all my future as it was in my past
I’ll be the girl in red converses and Jeans with torn hems
Just thankful for another day

Here’s to growing up
wpid-Signature.jpg

2 thoughts on “I am Just a Girl

  1. I love this poem, Sabrina. It’s very touching, and I can relate a lot to it. Love how you used juxtaposition here – there really is always two sides to any situation, good or bad. Growing up, I think we are all searching and longing for the next big thing to happen to us. But as we grow older we learn to take things more slowly and appreciate what we have and make the most of what we’ve got 🙂

    1. Thank you soo much Mabel.. sorry for the extremely late reply, I took a short break from blogging just for a while, hence the delay.
      I am glad you liked it, and thank you for your kind words!

Leave a Reply

