I have decided I love words.
I purposefully, intentionally and passionately love words.
I love how you can take 26 letters of the alphabet and create a whole story that lets you dive into an imagination so rich and vivid and real that you never want to resurface from that reverie.

More than loving words, I love words in the mind and thoughts of John Green, because never have I been moved, and thrown into such a beautiful madness as has been done to me with the story of The Fault in Our Stars.
There are probably thousands of reviews and thoughts about this book, and without doubt it deserves all the thoughts and the reviews it can get, it is beautiful story.

I came to know of this book through various Pinterest Boards and the TFIOS movie trailer. It looked ok, it wasn’t until I read the very first sentence on the very first page did I realize that it is one of the most prized books I will ever own.

As I started reading it this morning, on my commute to work, I reached Office in a mix of smiling, crying, having profound thoughts and just trying to breathe all at the same time.
This story has brought me to that magical place where you just fall in love with the characters, you care for Gus and Hazel Grace ( I love how Gus calls her Hazel Grace, this is one of my absolute favorite things) as if you knew them personally.
They are so quaint, and funny, they are weird, and you realize sometimes you are weird, and you fall in love with your weirdness.

You know a book is good when you sneak away just to read a few sentences, you will search for any spare time you have just so you can take in more of it, when you want to underline every word, you want to scribble little things in the corner, when you want to shout out to the whole world, that the words on that page, in your hand are going to change your entire life. That’s how you know a book is good.

But you know its great when you finish reading the last sentence at 5:30 Pm in the afternoon, you take a few seconds to catch your breath and without questioning why, or what or trying to comprehend any of the things you are feeling, you start right back from page Nos 1.
05:35 – Flip open Page 1 Chapter 1

I read without knowing the story, and now I am reading it knowing full well what is going to happen, but that has become my motivation, it has become the only thing I want to do. I just want to read it again and again, like a song on repeat.
Why?
Because I have fallen in love with the particular bunch of words that stitch this story together, I want to read them again and again, until I have lost count of the number of times I have read it and come that place where I know each and every word by heart, because it is beautiful and I am just learning the business of not denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things ( or reading beautiful books)
This is all I want to do, for the foreseeable future, this is all I think I should be doing, just reading this book, because it has to be read, it just has to and thankfully I have the privilege of being able to.

8808a9631133b877e12ed882a3cee8e8

Here’s to the words, John Green and a second round of reading TFIOS ( and a third, & a fourth & a fifth &…..)

wpid-Signature.jpg

Image Courtesy: Google

2 thoughts on “Reading The fault In our Stars

Leave a Reply

